New Plan

A small panel lager tasting is proving a pain to up together. I will just make up a tasting chart and review some lagers as I go.

On the list:

– Samuel Adams Boston Lager, one of my favorite beers and a go-to when out and the tap disappoints

– Session Lager, I hope, it is good and cheaper than Sam, but not in stock locally at the moment

– Kona Longboard, meh, I’d sooner save some cash and go for High Life. A shame considering Fire Rock is one of my favorite pale ales.

– Mama’s Little Yella Pils, very good, but very spendy

– Narragansett, it won’t kill you in your sleep, but it is decidedly cheap beer. I’ll give it a second chance for a written tasting, though.

– Miller High Life, bubbly bread beer is a favorite of mine on hot days

– Pabst Blue Ribbon, a solid quencher

– I may buy Natty Ice and some Beast just to say I gave this my all.

– Victory Prima Pils, a very solid beer, but I don’t tend to care for extra hoppy lagers.

– I’ve decided against inclusion of the trendy newish IPL. An intentionally super hoppy lager to play on the popularity of IPA just doesn’t seem like a reasonable comparison when considering the merits/demerits of fizzy yellow beer, the offspring of pale lager. Likewise, black lagers are out, despite their tasty qualities.

Feel free to toss in a suggestion for something reasonably easily found in New Hampshire. Now that the season’s first century is out of the way, I may have time to settle down and get typing on the subject.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Plan

  1. I prefer: not much hops and lots of maltiness.

Leave a Reply

